Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Climate change

Getting started with academic research | Recommended databases | Suggested websites on climate change

This guide provides a general introduction to resources on the topic of climate change. It is based in part on the following definition of climate change as provided by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, which reads:

Climate change refers to any significant change in measures of climate (such as temperature, precipitation, or wind) lasting for an extended period (decades or longer). Climate change may result from:
  • natural factors, such as changes in the sun's intensity or slow changes in the Earth's orbit around the sun
  • natural processes within the climate system (e.g. changes in ocean circulation)
  • human activities that change the atmosphere's composition (e.g. through burning fossil fuels) and the land surface (e.g. deforestation, reforestation, urbanization, desertification, etc.)

Those with an interest in other aspects of meteorology should also consult the subject guide for meteorology and weather.


    Ed Lener

  •     Ed Lener
  • Edward F Lener
  • Associate Director for Collection Management
  • (540) 231-9249
  • (540) 231-2612 (Derring office)
  • lener@vt.edu
  • 4030 Newman Library, 560 Drillfield Drive
    3066A Derring Hall, 1405 Perry St.
    Blacksburg, VA 24062

Bookmark and Share




Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.