Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Properties of materials

This databases provide chemical and physical properties of materials.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of materials science and engineering | Recommended databases | Properties of materials

  • ChemIDplus Advanced from the NLM

        ChemIDplus from NLM
    This resource is freely accessible

    ChemIDplus Advanced from the NLM

    Searches the NLM ChemIDplus database of over 370,000 chemicals and displays numerous properties (and sometimes lists citations for sources of the data, but it does not search article citations directly). Allows various search capabilities beyond the Lite version including chemical structure, toxicity, and physical property searching. You will need a web browser that has a recent version of Java installed. There is a structure drawing and display applet named Marvin. An alternative method to provide the capabilities needed to accept a structure query is the Chime plug-in.

    Full record

  • Knovel Online Interactive Library

        Knovel
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Knovel Online Interactive Library

    Knovel provides a large collection of ebooks on engineering and related subjects. Each chapter is presented as a separate PDF. The entire collection is full-text searchable, and many results include interactive tables. Includes tables of properties for over 13,000 chemical compounds. Limited to  simultaneous users.  

    Full record

  • ASM Handbooks Online

        American Society for Metals
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

    ASM Handbooks Online

    ASM Handbooks Online features the complete content of twenty-four ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions (the Engineered Materials Handbook and the Metals Handbook). All content is HTML.

    Full record


    Larry Thompson


Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Related subject guides