This guide covers all areas of philosophy including biographies of philosophers and their areas of interest: logic, ethics, metaphysics, epistemology, aesthetics, philosophy of religion, philosophy of science, and social and political philosophy.
Getting started with academic research | Overview of philosophy | Recommended databases
The Philosopher's Index indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, chapters/essays, book reviews in the fields of philosophy, aesthetics, metaphysics, social philosophy, and axiology. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1940-present
Religion and Philosophy Collection indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, magazines, and book reviews in the field of world religions, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Full-text materials are available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1967-present.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, and some sciences. 1907-1984.
L'Année philologique (The Year in Philology) is a print index contains citations of all known scholarly work published in any language anywhere in the world in the areas of ancient Greek and Latin language and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, literature, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, music, science, early Christian texts, numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. Each entry offers a one- or two-sentence summary of the content. Includes coverage of conference proceedings and book reviews. Coverage begins in 200 BCE and ends roughly in 800 AD.