These databases index articles, fact sheets, and reports on health topics written at the consumer level. Use the databases for general research in the health and medicine fields, particularly for lower-level research.
Getting started with academic research | Overview of population health sciences | Recommenced databases | General medicine databases | Health databases
Health Source: Consumer Edition indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from consumer health magazines, books, academic journals, pamphlets, reference works (including the full text of Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary), and Clinical Reference Systems reports. Full text is available in PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1984-present.
Consumer Health Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from many different source types: evidence-based reports, reference works including medical dictionaries and encyclopedias, fact sheets and pamphlets, news articles, drug information, and multimedia files. You can search by disease, condition, injury, or procedure.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles (PDFs) from journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses and dissertations, and other sources in the social sciences and education. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1900s-present. Limited to simultaneous users.
The Smoking and Health Database indexes citations and abstracts from medical and professional journals, books and book chapters, dissertations, reports, conference proceedings, government documents from federal, state, local, and foregin governments, fact sheets, and policy documents from U.S. and international nonprofits organizations. 1882-present.