Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

American politics and government

American politics and government is the scholarly study of politics within the United States, including political behavior, public opinion, elections and electoral systems, institutions, political parties and pressure groups, public law and constitutions, branches and levels of government, whether taken on their own or as they relate to US domestic- or foreign-policy making.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of American politics and government | Recommended databases | Legal databases

  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts from ProQuest

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts from ProQuest

    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, essays, book reviews, working papers, technical reports, theses, and dissertations in the social sciences related to politics. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1975-present.  

    Full record

  • CQ Press Electronic Library

        CQ Press
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

    CQ Press Electronic Library

    CQ Press Electronic Library allows searching across multiple CQ Press ebooks, periodicals, and analytical reports on all aspects of American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Major document types included are court case summaries, chronologies, floor votes in Congress, election analyses, legislative analyses, maps, and primary sources. Most full-text content is presented as HTML web pages, though tables and PDFs are also included. 1700s-present.  

    Full record

  • ProQuest Congressional

        ProQuest Congressional
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    ProQuest Congressional

    ProQuest Congressional indexes citation to and provides some full text for congressional publications and legislative history. 1969-present.  

    Full record

  • Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS) from CQ Press

        CQ Press
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS) from CQ Press

    CRSR allows browsing and full-text searching of Congressional Research Service (of the Library of Congress) reports, which are provided to members of Congress and Congressional committees and could cover any topic. By law, most CRS reports are confidential, so this database is not complete. 1978-present.  

    Full record

  • HeinOnline

        Hein Online
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

    HeinOnline

    HeinOnline provides full-text PDF legal documents organized into libraries: Law Journals (ABA, Core, Criminal Justice, International, Intellectual Property), Legal Classics, United States Code, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S Federal Legislative History, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, U.S. Presidential, Treaties and Agreements, Pentagon Papers, Manual of Patent Examining Procedure, World Constitutions Illustrated, and the European Center for Minority Issues. 1200s-present.  

    Full record

  • ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research

        ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

    ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research

    The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based organization providing access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. The archive of data sets includes a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law.

    Full record


    Bruce Pencek

  •     Bruce Pencek
  • Bruce Pencek
  • College Librarian for Social Sciences & History
  • (540) 231-2140
  • (540) 231-2140 (Newman Library 3050 office -- for most purposes)
  • bpencek@vt.edu
  • 3050 Newman Library, 560 Drillfield Drive
    Blacksburg, VA 24062-9001

Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.