Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Area studies and comparative politics

As pursued in the United State, area studies and comparative politics traditionally has dealt with the politics of countries and global regions other than the US. The modern nation-state – its support, its evolution, it alternatives, and its future in the face of globalization – has been a focal point. Tech's international studies program blends the subfields of comparative politics and international relations.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of area studies and comparative politics | Recommended databases | Country profiles

  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts from CSA

        CSA interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts from CSA

    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, essays, book reviews, working papers, technical reports, theses, and dissertations in the social sciences related to politics. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1975-present.  

    Full record

  • Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)

        Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)

    EIU provides economic profiles and reports that assess and forecast political, economic and business conditions for almost 200 countries. Each report examines and explains in depth the issues shaping these countries: the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments. Detailed 2 year forecasts complement the analysis and pinpoint political and economic developments and trends.  

    Full record

  • Factiva

        Factiva
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource

    Factiva

    Factiva provides full-text news articles and business/industry information from newswires, newspapers, business and industry magazines, television and radio transcripts, financial reports, and photos from news services. Most content is HTML, though other formats are available for export. News sources 1979-present; financial data 1960s-present.  

    Full record

  • UNdata from the United Nations Statistics Division

        UN Data
    This resource is freely accessible

    UNdata from the United Nations Statistics Division

    UNdata indexes data and statistics compiled by United Nations divisions, including official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism. You can also find indicators such as Millennium Development Goals. Data can be downloaded in statistical software formats.

    Full record

  • World Bank Group Data Catalog

        Worldbank Data
    This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

    World Bank Group Databases

    The World Bank Group Databases provides access to searchable databases on economics, education, and social science data. Many of the databases can be downloaded in database or spreadsheet format.

    Full record

  • Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS online)

        Bibliography of Asian Studies
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

    Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS online)

    BAS indexes citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and reports on the social science and humanities aspects of East, Southeast, and South Asia. The "Find it @ your library" button connects to Get VText. 1971-present.  

    Full record

  • American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies - ABSEES from EBSCOhost

        EBSCOhost interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies - ABSEES from EBSCOhost

    American Bibliography of Slavic & Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) indexes citations and full-text information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Subject areas covered include social sciences and education, humanities and the arts, and business and economics. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada. 1989-present.  

    Full record

  • Fuente Académica from EBSCOhost

        EBSCOhost interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    Fuente Académica from EBSCOhost

    Fuente Académica is a collection of full-text, scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain, some back to volume one. Content is available as PDF. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1922-present.  

    Full record


    Bruce Pencek

  •     Bruce Pencek
  • Bruce Pencek
  • College Librarian for Social Sciences
  • (540) 231-5806 (Lane Hall office)
  • bpencek@vt.edu
  • 3050 Newman
    311 Lane hall
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Chat Button

Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.