These databases provide information about countries: politics, government, and economics.
Getting started with academic research | Overview of area studies and comparative politics | Recommended databases | Country profiles
EIU provides economic profiles and reports that assess and forecast political, economic and business conditions for almost 200 countries. Each report examines and explains in depth the issues shaping these countries: the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments. Detailed 2 year forecasts complement the analysis and pinpoint political and economic developments and trends.
Country Profiles and Mapping Information System provides country-level reports and statistical data in FAO "fields of expertise" (namely sustainable development, economic situation, agriculture/ forestry/ fishery sectors, technical cooperation) and "priority areas" (biodiversity, biosecurity, biotechnology, climate change, ecosystem management, emergency operations, ethics, food for cities, gender, global studies, information management, integrated production systems, organic farming, spatial information, sustainable livelihoods, trade agreements).
UIS provides statistics tables related to UNESCO's interests: education, literacy, science and technology, culture, and communication. View pre-defined tables or build your own by selecting countries, indicators, and years. Tables can be downloaded in spreadsheet formats or exported to PDFs.
The World Bank Group Databases provides access to searchable databases on economics, education, and social science data. Many of the databases can be downloaded in database or spreadsheet format.
Background Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus.