Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Political science, government, and international affairs

Political science is the systematic study of the ways communities are (or could be) organized, preserved, and changed – of conflicting ideas of justice and various dimensions of power – has occupied great thinkers and scholars for millennia. There are virtually no fields of human activity that neither affect nor are affected by politics. Accordingly, most library resources for scholarly research about politics are listed in the subject guides for the principal subfields of the discipline:

See the news sources guide for sources of information about current political events.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of political science | Recommended databases


    Bruce Pencek

  •     Bruce Pencek
  • Bruce Pencek
  • College Librarian for Social Sciences & History
  • (540) 231-2140
  • (540) 231-2140 (Newman Library 3050 office -- for most purposes)
  • bpencek@vt.edu
  • 3050 Newman Library, 560 Drillfield Drive
    Blacksburg, VA 24062-9001


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.