Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Overview of area studies and comparative politics

Use this guide to perform background research to refine a research topic, confirm terminology, and get a general understanding before finding books and articles to support a research project.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of area studies and comparative politics | Recommended databases | Country profiles

  • Political Handbook of the World from CQ Press

        CQ Press Political Handbook of the World
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Political Handbook of the World from CQ Press

    The Political Handbook of the World provides information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system. Country profiles include key facts, government and political history, current issues, political parties and organizations, legislatures and cabinets, and communications. It also profiles 120 intergovernmental organizations, such as OPEC, NATO, the WTO, world and regional banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations. Older editions available in print.  

    Full record


    Bruce Pencek

  •     Bruce Pencek
  • Bruce Pencek
  • College Librarian for Social Sciences & History
  • (540) 231-2140
  • (540) 231-2140 (Newman Library 3050 office -- for most purposes)
  • bpencek@vt.edu
  • 3050 Newman Library, 560 Drillfield Drive
    Blacksburg, VA 24062-9001

Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.