Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Medieval and early modern studies

Medieval and early modern studies fosters an interdisciplinary approach to the medieval and early modern worlds (roughly 300-1700 C.E.).

Getting started with academic research | Overview of medieval and early modern studies | Recommended databases

  • International Medieval Bibliography from Brepolis

        Brepolis
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    International Medieval Bibliography

    IMB indexes citations for 365,000 articles from journals and conference proceedings relating to all aspects of the Middle Ages (300-1500 A.D.) in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. 1967-present. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

    Full record

  • Iter Bibliography

        ITER
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

    Iter Bibliography

    The Iter Bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). It indexes citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts, and discographies), as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, Festschriften, encyclopedias, and exhibition catalogues). Use the Check for full text link to connect to Get VText. 1784-present.

    Full record

  • Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts

        Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts
    This resource is freely accessible

    Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts

    Offers a means to discover medieval manuscripts available on the web. Very much a work in progress, the database will initially provide links to hundreds of manuscripts, expected to grow to thousands. Basic information about the manuscripts is fully searchable, and users can also browse through the complete contents of the database. As the project develops, a richer body of information for each manuscript, and the texts in these codices, will be provided, where available.

    Full record

  • ARTFL-FRANTEXT

        ARTFL
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    ARTFL-FRANTEXT

    ARTFL-FRANTEXT provides HTML full-text works ranging from classic French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.  

    Full record

  • Early English Books Online from Chadwyck-Healey

        Early English Books Online
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Early English Books Online from Chadwick

    Early English Books Online contains scanned page images (GIF and TIFF) of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Coverages includes all subject areas with strong coverage in the humanities, performing arts, and education. Each is full-text searchable. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

    Full record


    Bruce Pencek

  •     Bruce Pencek
  • Bruce Pencek
  • College Librarian for Social Sciences & History
  • (540) 231-5806 (Lane Hall 311 office -- during regular office hours)
  • (540) 231-2140 (Newman Library 3050 office -- for most purposes)
  • bpencek@vt.edu
  • 3050 Newman Library, 560 Drillfield Drive
    311 Lane Hall, 280 Alumni Mall
    Blacksburg, VA 24062-9001

Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.