Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Statistics (mathematical)

Statistics is the applied science of making decisions from data. Virginia Tech's curriculum emphasizes the use of probability modeling to design efficient data collection schemes and to extract the maximum information from resulting data, using state-of-the-art computer software.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of statistics | Recommended databases


    Ed Lener

  •     Ed Lener
  • Edward F Lener
  • Associate Director for Collection Management
  • (540) 231-9249
  • (540) 231-2612 (Derring office)
  • lener@vt.edu
  • 4030 Newman Library, 560 Drillfield Drive
    3066A Derring Hall, 1405 Perry St.
    Blacksburg, VA 24062

Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Related subject guides