Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Science and technology studies

Science and technology studies bring inter- and transdisciplinary approaches to the social dimensions and effects of scientific and technological practices and institutions. Major orientations in STS look at science, technology, and medicine through the lenses of history, philosophy, sociology, and public policy. In addition, to subject guides in those fields, researchers should also explore social and humanistic content in the library's many subject guides for physical and life sciences, engineering, and medicine. Virginia Tech Department of Science and Technology in Society

Getting started with academic research | Overview of science and technology studies | Recommended databases


    Bruce Pencek

  •     Bruce Pencek
  • Bruce Pencek
  • College Librarian for Social Sciences & History
  • (540) 231-2140
  • (540) 231-2140 (Newman Library 3050 office -- for most purposes)
  • bpencek@vt.edu
  • 3050 Newman Library, 560 Drillfield Drive
    Blacksburg, VA 24062-9001


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.