Use this guide to perform background research to refine a research topic, confirm terminology, and get a general understanding before finding books and articles to support a research project.
Getting started with academic research | Overview of theatre arts | Recommended databases
Search or browse across 11 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 39,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.
Shakespeare Survey is a yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production. Each volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays; each also contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies, and of the year's major British performances. Each chapter can be downloaded as a PDF. The books are illustrated with a variety of Shakespearean images and production photographs. 1948-present.
A collection of essays by Shakespeare scholars that have been selected for students at the high school or undergraduate college level. Each entry includes an introduction; a plot synopsis; a character list; a discussion of the work's principal themes; information about the style and literary devices used; a conversation about the work's historical context; and a critical overview. Full text available as HTML and PDF.
Reviews published in newspapers, magazines, trade publications, news program transcripts, and major websites from around the world. 1980-present.
Gale's Literary Index is a master index to entries on authors and works from over 130 reference works published by Gale. You can search an author's name or a work's title to see which reference works contain entries on this item. Basic biographical information is provided for authors, and basic bibliographical information for titles. Search Addison on the title of the reference work to determine local access: in print or online.
The script collection consists of over 7700 items (complete listing by title). Scripts are kept in a special section on the third floor which is labeled as Newman Scripts in Addison.. There are a number of means to search for script in Addison, however none allow for limiting to items in the Scripts section.