Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Urban affairs and planning

Urban Affairs and Planning at Virginia Tech conducts basic and applied research on national and international development patterns, focusing on key forces shaping metropolitan growth such as demographics, environment, technology, design, transportation, and governance. Professional specializations include environmental planning and policy; land use and physical development planning; housing, community and economic development; and international development planning.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of urban affairs and planning  | Recommended databases

  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals from EBSCOhost

        EBSCOhost interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals from EBSCOhost

    Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles in architecture and design from American and international scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, and publications of professional organizations. In addition, this database also provides citation records for architects' obituaries. Full text, when available, is in PDF and HTML. 1800s-present.  

    Full record

  • EconLIT from CSA

        CSA interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    EconLIT from CSA

    EconLit indexes citations and abstracts from articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and the full text of book reviews and working papers on economic theory and application. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1969-present.  

    Full record

  • PAIS International from CSA

        CSA interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    PAIS International from CSA

    PAIS International indexes citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, and Internet material on all aspects of international affairs and politics. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.1972-present.

     Full record

  • ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts from CSA

        CSA interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts from CSA

    ASSIA is an index of citations and abstracts to journal articles in the social sciences and education, economics, and health fields. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1987-present.  

    Full record

  • Environment Complete from EBSCOhost

        EBSCOhost interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    Environment Complete from EBSCOhost

    Environment Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, conference proceedings, and books on the agricultural, biological, social science, and technological aspects of the environment. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed journals. 1888-present.  

    Full record

  • ULI Development Case Studies

        Urban Land Institute
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible

    ULI Development Case Studies

    ULI Development Case Studies provides full-text case studies describing the development process of building projects (in HTML). Studies include general descriptions, contact information for the development team, the building site's background and history, special features of the project, what did and did not work on the project, key facts and figures, and photos of the site or floor plans. 1981-present. Limited to   simultaneous user.  

    Full record


    Bruce Obenhaus


Chat Button

Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.