Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Overview of urban affairs and planning

Use this guide to perform background research to refine a research topic, confirm terminology, and get a general understanding before finding books and articles to support a research project.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of urban affairs and planning | Recommended databases

  • Emporis Research

        Emporis
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    Emporis Research

    Updated continuously, Emporis provides data on architecture, construction, and real estate developments from all over the world. Search by company (consultancies, contractors, design firms, engineering firms, suppliers), building type, style, construction time frame (complete, under construction, approved, proposed, demolished, visionary, on hold), exact location and address, total height, structural height, number of floors and cubical space, date of construction project, structural system, materials, etc. Contains roughly 300,000 photos of buildings.  

    Full record

  • ULI Development Case Studies

        Urban Land Institute
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible

    ULI Development Case Studies

    ULI Development Case Studies provides full-text case studies describing the development process of building projects (in HTML). Studies include general descriptions, contact information for the development team, the building site's background and history, special features of the project, what did and did not work on the project, key facts and figures, and photos of the site or floor plans. 1981-present. Limited to   simultaneous user.  

    Full record

  • Digital Sanborn Maps - 1867-1970 from UMI

        Sanborn Digital Maps
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    Digital Sanborn Maps - 1867-1970 from UMI

    Large-scale maps of towns and cities in Virginia and Washington, D.C., useful to urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, and environmentalists. Data contained includes the outline of each building; size, shape, and construction materials; functions of structures; locations of windows and doors; street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, and house and block numbers. Displays images in the browser using a plugin for zooming and scrolling.  

    Full record


    Bruce Obenhaus


Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.