Use this guide to perform background research to refine a research topic, confirm terminology, and get a general understanding before finding books and articles to support a research project.
Getting started with academic research | Overview of veterinary medicine | Recommended databases | Key reference books
The Merck Veterinary Manual provides full-text reference articles in HTML on animal health topics. References are not included. You can search or browse entries.
Replaces the Database of Approved Animal Drug Products or Green Book, a database that was previously developed and managed by the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine (VMRCVM) Drug Information Laboratory. Allows users to search for detailed descriptions of all FDA-approved new animal drugs, including patents.
Search or browse across eight subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 10,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.
Animal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC) provides detailed information on agricultural and biological sciences. It contains datasheets (HTML and PDF) on livestock and the diseases that affect them, datasheets on food safety and quality, and datasheets on countries' statistical data on animal and economic production. It also provides PDF and HTML full-text documents on all aspects of food animals as well as an index to citations for agricultural publications and nearly 2,000 images. A geographic database contains country distribution data for diseases and breeds for use with GIS software. 1910s-present.