Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Key reference books in veterinary medicine

These are important reference books for research in veterinary medicine.

Getting started with library research | Overview of veterinary medicine | Recommended databases | Key reference books

Black's Veterinary Dictionary SF609 .B53
Encyclopedic dictionary offering practical help and reference material for veterinary purposes.
BSAVA Small Animal Formulary SF915 .B83 2008
A useful reference for small animal veterinarians. Provides a wealth of information on British veterinary licensed and human drugs used in companion animal practice.
Exotic Animal Drug Compendium SF917 .M37 1996
Presents tabular information on drugs used with exotic animals, for veterinarians working with exotic pets, zoo animals, laboratory animals, and wild animals. Drugs are listed by category and name, with information on their use with specific animals, including figures for recommended dosages, route, frequency, duration, comments and drug combinations.
Exotic Animal Formulary SF917 .C37 2001
Serves as a quick reference for veterinary clinicians, students, and technicians working with exotic animals.
Handbook of Veterinary Drugs SF917 .A44 2005
Serves as a useful reference for commonly used drugs in veterinary medicine. Descriptions of the drugs and their uses are listed. Common trade names are included to facilitate acquisitions of the drugs.
Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary SF609 .B566 1999
Reliable and authoritative source of information for students and practicing veterinarians and biologists. Key features include: over 65,000 entries, 90 pages of anatomical information, and a thorough coverage of drugs and poisonous substances.
Veterinary Drug Handbook SF917 .P58 2008
One-volume comprehensive coverage of the systemic drugs used in veterinary medicine with an extensive appendix.
Veterinary Formulary SF917 .P58 2008
A rapid reference text primarily for veterinarians, veterinary students, pharmacists, and others involved with animal care.

  •     Vicki Kok
  • Victoria T Kok
  • Head of Veterinary Medicine Library
  • (540) 231-6610
  • vkok@vt.edu
  • Vet Med Library
    265 Duck Pond Dr
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Bookmark and Share