Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Wood science / sustainable biomaterials

This guide has been created to highlight resources most commonly used by those researching the science, engineering, packaging systems, biofuels, and production aspects of sustainable biomaterials, primarily in relation to wood science.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of wood science / sustainable biomaterials | Recommended databases

  • Engineering Village

        Engineering Village
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    Engineering Village

    Engineering Village is the search interface to three engineering databases: Compendex, Inspec, and NTIS. Compendex indexes citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conference papers, books, patents, dissertations, and technical reports. Inspec indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in engineering and physical sciences. NTIS indexes citations and abstracts of National Technical Information Service reports and audiovisual materials from sources such as NASA and the departments of Energy and Defense. 1884-present.  

    Full record

  • ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering from ProQuest

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering from ProQuest

    ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering is an abstracting and indexing database that covers agricultural, medical, design, and engineering publications. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. Sources include periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, patents, press releases, and books. 1981-present; abstracts available 1993-present.  

    Full record

  • Engineered Materials Abstracts from ProQuest

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Engineered Materials Abstracts from ProQuest

    Engineered Materials Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journals, patents, books, and more on all engineering and physical science aspects of engineered materials. You can limit to peer reviewed sources. 1986-present.  

    Full record

  • Polymers - A Property Database

        Polymer Database
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    Polymers - A Property Database

    Polymers - A Property Database provides scientific and commercial information on polymers. Search by monomer, applications, properties (mechanical, electrical, calorimetric, solubility, or surface), or manufacturing process.  

    Full record

  • SciFinder

        SciFinder Scholar
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    SciFinder

    SciFinder indexes citations and abstracts from Chemical Abstract Services databases and MEDLINE including journal articles, patents, books, conference papers, dissertations, and reports. You can search text-based fields or draw chemical structures. You can perform cited reference searches. 1907-present. Limited to   simultaneous users. Registration required.

    Full record


    Kiri Goldbeck DeBose

  •     Kiri Goldbeck DeBose
  • Kyrille K Goldbeck DeBose
  • College Librarian for Natural Resources and Environment
  • (540) 231-0495
  • (540) 231-0419 (Cheatham Hall office)
  • kdebose@vt.edu
  • 310 West Campus Drive, Cheatham Hall Room 315B
    560 Drillfield Drive, Newman Library Room 4005
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.